A panel, consisting of the four area chairs from the conference technical program committee, were asked to judge a short list of the best 11 papers according to the reviewer’s scores. based on the results of this judging process, the panel decided to present the following awards:

Best Paper

Improving Enhancement Layer Merge Mode for HEVC Scalable Extension

Xiem HoangVan, João Ascenso, Fernando Pereira, Instituto Superior Técnico/TU Lisbon – Instituto de Telecomunicações, Portugal



Best Student Paper

Constrained NMF for Multiple Exhibition on a Single Display

Lihao Wang, Guangtao Zhai, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China



A Cloud-Assisted Dash-Based Scalable Interactive Multiview Video Streaming Framework

Mincheng Zhao, Xiangyang Gong, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China; Jie Liang, Simon Fraser University, Canada; Jia Guo, Wendong Wang, Xirong Que, Cheng Shiduan, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications,



Highly Commended Student Paper

Lossless Image Compression Based on Kernel Least Mean Squares

Ruben Verhack, Ghent University – iMinds/Technische Universität Berlin, Belgium; Lieven Lange, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany; Peter Lambert, Rik Van de Walle, Ghent University – iMinds, Belgium; Thomas Sikora, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany



GTT: Graph Template Transforms with Applications to Image Coding

Eduardo Pavez, Hilmi Egilmez, Yongzhe Wang, Antonio Ortega, University of Southern California, United States